In most countries, renters must be at least 21 to get behind the wheel of a rental car. The reason is that insurance rates are much higher for younger drivers.

Exceptions include Michigan and New York, which allow 18-year-olds to rent cars. But even in those two states, a young driver will still have to pay an underage fee.

Insurance Rates

Renting cars is a common practice for travelers and tourists in cities and states around the world. Rental companies usually buy large fleet policies, allowing them to insure thousands of vehicles at much cheaper rates than individual car insurance. As a result, most rental firms restrict the age of drivers to 25 as a way to reduce their risk.

Younger drivers have a higher rate of accidents, so companies are concerned that they would pay a lot more for repairs or even lose the car altogether. That’s why most places have age restrictions and an extra fee for younger drivers. I recommend this website for more Rent a Car Tirana Airport.

However, there are some ways to avoid this. One option is to ask your parents to add you on their insurance policy before you rent a vehicle. That will raise the rates, but it might be cheaper than paying for a separate car rental policy. Another way is to find an organization that waives underage fees. For example, AAA members often get this benefit.

State Law

Many people assume that you have to be at least 25 years old to rent a car. However, this is not always true. Two states, Michigan and New York, allow car rental companies to rent cars to 18-year-olds. However, most rental companies charge an additional fee for drivers under the age of 21.

To rent a car, you will need to have a valid driver’s license and a credit card. Some car rental companies will not rent a car to someone who has had their license suspended or revoked for traffic violations. Others may require that your license is in good standing for a certain period of time before renting you a vehicle.

Some companies, such as Fox Rent A Car and Hertz, will rent a car to anyone between the ages of 18 and 21, but will usually charge an additional “young driver” fee. This fee is to cover the extra liability insurance that a young driver will need.


In most of the United States, you need to be 21 years old to rent a car. Rental companies consider younger drivers to be at higher risk for causing damage and have a greater chance of getting into an accident. They also have more expenses, such as insurance and the cost of maintenance.

Luckily, there are some exceptions to this rule. In Michigan and New York, you can rent a car at age 18. You will need to provide proof of identity, an accepted credit card, and a driver’s license. You may also be restricted to certain types of cars, such as economy through full size.

Renting a car allows young people to explore their environment and travel freely without having to rely on others. It can also help them gain driving experience and become a better driver. However, renting a car comes with some restrictions and costs, including extra charges and strict terms and conditions.